While I was having my car serviced at Honda yesterday, I got the chance to see and feel the new Honda Jazz (sold as Honda FIT in the US). And boy was I surprised with the roominess this car gives. And it even has 10 (yes ten!) drink holders all around the car.

The headroom is comfortable and legroom for the driver and front passenger. Then I tried sitting at the back with the front seats extended all the way and my knees did not even hit the driver’s seat. Cool!

But what struck me most was the “ultra” backseats that fold flat on the floor for more compartment space. (This one is ideal for me.)

The new 1.3 engine now comes in iVtec variant which truly makes this machine very fuel efficient, something that has become a necessity these days.

Of course, Honda isn’t giving any promos at this time for the newly-released FUV unlike the City, Civic and CRV all having 20,000 pesos discount for cash and term buyers. (The all-new City is coming out in February 2009; Civic needs to be competitive with the new Toyota Corolla Altis and Mitsubishi Lancer EX; the CRV is losing its edge over the crdi models of Hyundai.)

Give it a year, the Jazz will be offered with promo discounts and that is the right time to buy.

