After last week’s Automated Perimetry and Eye Photo exams from the Eye Lab Center of Asian Hospital, I visited my opthalmologist for the interpretation of the results.

As soon as I got inside his clinic, the first thing he asked was, ” Do you like to hear the bad news or the good news first?” I retorted, “Start with the bad news.”

Then my doctor started his narration complete with medical terms I can’t seem to grasp. All I can understand were the words “near-sighted”, “eye pressure”, “stress-related”, “hereditary”, “eye pigmentation”, and a couple more.

The good news was that my eye pressure has remained the same, within the 11-12 range with 13 to 14 as cut-off. (My Mom, who has chronic gaucoma, would at times reach 29 to 32!) My vision results from the perimetry exams were acceptable, nothing much to worry about but my eye photo result showed “whiteness” inside my iris. Nothing to be alarmed about, so the doctor says, but he needs to monitor my left eye on a quarterly basis.

I am scheduled for my 2nd perimetry and eye photo test on the third weekend of June. This will set me back again for 5 grand! šŸ˜¦ And I have to undergo this test quarterly for a year afterwhich this will be an annual examination I have to undergo.

Glaucoma is irreversible. Preventive medication is the only resort to keep whatever vision you may have.

In the meantime, I was prescribed eye-drops for daily use at least 4 to 5 times a day. Tears offer a layer to our eyeball to protect them from dust, smoke, and other lingering elements in the air. However, the liquid secreted by our glands are at times not enough. So, to lubricate my eyes, I am now using Dextran 70 Hypermellose. In layman’s term, it is “artificial tears”.

d2ffa8aa97325282

By the way, excessive computer use is really harmful. Bet we all know that. However, maximum use per hour is only at 40-45 minutes. So workoholics and surf-aholics, veer away from the screen for a quarter of an hour, every hour, and blink a number of times to wet your eyeballs.

